August 3rd

Well this mixed weather reflects my feelings. I have managed to write up some more work for my uni degree during the rain and wish I had finished it. The references are nearly as much work as the writing ,but hopefully I will finish those tomorrow. I was looking forward to finishing my psychology degree with pride but a few negative reviews for my book on the Open University platform has thrown a little doubt. Why? not because of all the content, I expect fair criticism but I did not expect the coldness that came with it from the academic world. There is a later review on Amazon that has the professional feel, and the coldness seeps through. It worries me as the book has received glowing reviews from many members of the general public, and to be honest I expected a more critical review from the academic world, I did not expect the coldness. It also made me realise how fortunate I am in receiving decent support from my consultant and his team. I also have to admit that I have a very nice GP and diabetic nurse, so I may just have been unlucky with the book reviews The seed of doubt has been planted and I hope that a few of the reviewers that have reviewed my book are a lot warmer with people, then they were in writing. 🙂 Also when placed in perspective the book has received hundreds and hundreds of positive reviews and a mere handful of negs. It also to me, is like people looking at a sweet, not tasting it and describing it from a distance, some of these professionals may be critical from an academic point of view but it cannot compete with having the experience in the first place. Also I am still amazed and feel humble about the support I receive on the books facebook page. The book is still No 1 on amazon in child abuse and in some other categories since christmas 2010 I never expected that. Although I am amazed and think this is great and have started to write a second book and a sequel to the first, I am very grounded. I realise my children are growing up so quickly and time is passing at a fast pace. Everyday I vow I will spend quality time with the people I care about and I am still working hard to stick to this.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to August 3rd

  1. LOL you tell them Lisa. and never doubt yourself or your resolve…and as i said ignore the aholes and finish that degree for you and others like you and i who have came through the dark times……….;-) xx

  2. lisawb says:

    Thanks Patrick, I will finish my degree as I won’t let people like that dominate my life, I wish more people would stick up for themselves, and if people cared a little bit more then not only would the world be a better place, but think of the cost savings world wide.

Leave a Reply

