People need to take a step back.

I just wanted to blog about an incident that just shows how ignorant some people can be, this is meant with respect but is a true account. Whilst I was in hospital due to my circumstances I was on level one which meant I had a nurse accompany me 24/7 at shoulders length. After time my consultant grew to understand me better and knew that partly it was the hospital environment that caused me to be impulsive and act out. Consequently I was given home leave at certain weekends, this weekend was my neighbours party and we went round their and had a great night chatting and enjoying the company of my neighbour and some relatives. it was one of these relatives that we chatted to and participated with some party games. On the Monday I had to return to the ward and consequently was with a nurse. During the day to my surprise the neighbours relative walked on the ward to deliver some post. My immediate reaction was to walk up to him to say “Hi” His immediate reaction when he saw me walking towards him with a nurse besides me was to place the parcel down and run like mad off the ward. – This action left me quite bewildered and I was unsure whether to laugh or cry. He had been chatting and laughing with me 24 hours earlier.

People are still scared of psychiatric wards, and they are even more scared of a stigma that is victorian, and they need to take a step back and realise that we are not still in the past, and that all sorts of people can have mental health problems and if everybody runs away, or shuts the door then this will never be resolved. People need to definitely take a step back, one in four people can be affected and that next person could be their daughter, son, mother, father, best friend, nextdoor neighbour or even themselves. They need to think that if they became ill, how would they like it if everyone ran away or shut the door, this is not the answer and people need to get out and about and learn more about life.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to People need to take a step back.

  1. teresa says:

    hi lisa i have just read the window incident part in the book , as i remember it it was myself holding on to u i still have the scar from the screw digging in my arm lol. it was a very hot day and i had a skirt on and remember saying to you that the firemen will have an eye full when they climb up the ladder and see right up my skirt, you couldnt stop laughing, and the doc never even thanked me ha. wot about your trip to blackpool with another patient and the “sticks of rock” she bought back lol x

    • lisawb says:

      Teresa, you were or should I say are one of the best! I didn’t know you got injured and I regret that. I remember we were laughing and as for the Blackpool incident, already recorded in my next book 🙂 x

  2. aileen says:

    The unfortunate thing here Lisa is mental illness and its connotations scare people. Its not the illness itself per say but the stigma and the whole hospital environment. I am a support worker for people who suffer from mental illness for various reasons, some caused by circumstance, some through drugs, alcohol etc., but when they are in their own homes and living life shall we say as expected, no one cares, no one knows. But hospitals and mental health have such a bad image, due to the asylums of the past and the lack of education now, that people don’t know how to react, because contrary to belief its still hidden, shamed and frowned upon, which isn’t right. At the end of the day as you rightly say mental illness can affect any one of us, the problem is – those that are mentally well are also mentally unaware and mentally ignorant! Please don’t think I’m justifying the actions of the man you describe, but without the proper education or involvement or indeed experience of mental health issues how can we expect to have an understanding society that doesn’t react negatively.
    With kind thoughts and best wishes
    Aileen

    • lisawb says:

      Well stated, I think you are right Aileen, and it is sad, as I think the chance of getting the right education out there is minimal and people do need the experience to understand properly. We had another blog on academic world v experience and obviously a blend of both is good, but the academics are limited unless they have experienced the events. I think blogs, websites and technology can help bring awareness to people a little bit, and it all helps, but obviously not enough.

      Good luck with your exam and I am glad you are working in that sector as it needs people like you to help others 🙂 x

Leave a Reply

