MENTAL HEALTH IS NOT SOMETHING TO BE ASHAMED OF!

I am quite a placid person, but I have to say issues around mental health really p me off. I don’t normally swear as I don’t need to but I can come close to it when I discuss or write about mental health. Let me give one example, it was in my local paper that my book had become a best seller a few months ago, consequently my husband was approached at his local tennis club and asked if it was his wife who had written the best seller. He replied that it was, the enthusiastic enquirers then went to ask what it was about, as soon as child abuse or mental health was mentioned the air went quiet and the atmosphere dead. People do not know how to handle the situation and it is because they are embarrassed and also in many cases ignorant. As I have said before many people have mental health problems and it is not something to be ashamed of. I had the choice of writing under a false name and I did not want to. I am not ashamed of what I went through, obviously I regret it happened but I am proud of how I have dealt with it and I feel fortunate to have witnessed what goes on in psychiatric wards as it has given me a much deeper understanding of the many varied illnesses that are under the label of mental health. Another thing it taught me is that mental health should not be a subject that is behind closed doors. I made many new friends through my experience and whilst I have empathy for some, I also have a lot of admiration in how people do cope and pull through. I mentioned to someone this morning that the facebook page for the book has now over 650 members and was greeted with a silence. I knew that particular person was still coming to terms with my book. I also wondered whether I should have kept quiet. BUT I definitely know that I should not keep quiet, I am proud of this page and I am proud of how some of the people who have joined have pulled themselves through their own problems and experience of life.I am also guessing not everyone has a problem and some people are just interested in these sorts of issues and I also raise my hat off to them, because it is people like this who make the world a better place.I was pleased and happy to see a previous member of staff and a nurse who looked after me join, and I can only have praise for her, so thank you Teresa. Laura who joined recently and gave my book a nice review cheered and motivated me enormously because she showed that as a young person she cared and had the right values. Again this leads down to believing in yourself and following your own values. I hope that I will continue along this path, and I also hope that other people will believe in themselves and not let other people pull them down. On this note and this is a personal view and some women may not agree, and I suppose it is in what context you see it, as a female being a Mum has to have all the strength in the world to attempt to be ok in front of her children when she is not well, but I think men find it twice as hard as they are presumed to be the stronger of the sex and are supposed to be the tough guys whose shoulders are there for others, but believe me everyone needs a shoulder to cry on at some stage in their life or as near to it as they can get.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to MENTAL HEALTH IS NOT SOMETHING TO BE ASHAMED OF!

  1. Here Here…Good for you…Yes i agree when you open a discussion regarding childhood sex abuse people suddenly have somewhere to go or stare blankly or look at the floor…You are totally right about us males we dont open up because its taken as a weakness or “in some insane thought in some people minds” we should have stopped because we are men forgetting the fact we were children when it happened…You know my mission and i have informed other that i am going to stand and tell my story “not for any glory or sympathy” but if i can save men from taking their own lives because they think they were in some way to blame then it will have done some good….You keep in their your worth a million of these people….Warmest Regards Always …………………….PAT…;-)

Leave a Reply

