I am not sure who has the biggest problem!

I received this message from a friend of mine who works with people suffering from mental health problems. I wish more people were like her as she cares, and tries her hardest to support and understand. I think her message is, very sad, extremely frustrating and it really makes me wonder who has the biggest problem. It draws attention very significantly that people need educating about mental health, and the sooner this happens the better. Children are being influenced by their parents, and the stigma about mental health is being handed down through generations. It is only through experience, awareness and education that this cycle will be halted. It is about time the government does something about it, and they might find that better understanding leads to better management, leads to improved support where people might get better quicker which would lead to less resources being needed and more efficient funding. My friend already understands all this as she has stated her own beliefs as well. Here is the message I received.

“I have been extremely lucky in the fact that my mental health has been good most of my life barring times of bereavement and 1 serious illness, which I would consider part of life, however through my work I learned rather quickly that mental health is not something 2 take 4 granted and although a highly personal issue, it is wholly dependant on the behaviours of those around.
Yesterday I attempted 2 deal with a problem which is causing a family member of mine a great deal of stress. She has learning difficulties and at times of high stress and depression self harms. Over the past 2 years she has been at first subtly but now blatently tormented and insulted by local children where she lives (in a house of her own with daily support). Her periods of self harming increasing to correspond. Yesterday I thought being a sensible rational adult, I would approach the parents 2 c if they could help alleviate the problem by getting the kids 2 back off. I have never been left so angry, frustrated and helpless in my life – the second I approached the subject the gentleman (an I use the term very loosly here) started shouting insults and abuse about the “f*ckin looney” “the bl**dy nutter” next door and preceded 2 tell the kids infront of me that they could do an say whatever they want an if I or anyone else said anything just tell us to “f*ck off!”
Which brings me 2 the point I was getting 2 like ur ‘people need 2 take a step back’ blog, adults and educators need 2 take a step forward. Children need 2 b educated 2 know that they’re actions have consequences on the health of others 2. Bullying and intimidation can and does have a serious effect on the victims and it doesn’t help when the victim is already living life at a disadvantage”

I hope that more people will take note, and that mental health issues will be promoted one day in a more positive fashion. In the meantime it is nice to know that there are people out there like Aileen who are trying hard to support mental health issues in the right way.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

