Why do we let little things upset us so much?

I was doing some thinking, and trying to reason at the same time why I can change from being in an ok mood to being pretty miserable. This is a completely different concept to being low pretty much most of the time, when you just have to accept the fact that you are in a downer. This is about when you are rolling along merrily, and then something upsets you that shouldn’t really do,and the rolling merrily changes into a rocky pathway. It happens to all of us, and when it is put into perspective usually the cause is something pretty small. I know I can sometimes flip at my husband because he left the door open, and the dogs got in with muddy feet, or even because it has started to rain. Why should this affect my mood, my husband is only human and we all make mistakes, and well the `English weather is unpredictable and I am not in Sunny Spain or the Med. Other days I can go into my kids bedrooms and pick up the usual teenage stuff and laugh about it, the same issue again a week or so later I can be raging to tell them off when they come home from school. If I had the same outcome for the same issue every time it happened, well, then I wouldn’t be human I would be a robot. What we have to accept is that small things will upset us sometimes, and other times it will be like water off a ducks back, but if we are more aware that small things will upset us sometimes then we can take a step back, and the next time I go into the bedroom and can’t see the colour of the carpet in my children’s room for the amount of clutter, I can rant or rage for a few seconds if I need to, then I can place it into perspective, does it matter that much? The answer is up to the individual, but just thinking ok I’ll remember to have a word with them to deal with it later, and move on, is much better then letting it fester and spoil your day. This is applicable to many different aspects and can even apply to arguments we have with other people. Although on this subject, I am still learning as if I think something or someone is unjust, it does fester in me for a long time, and this does not make the slightest difference to the person or issue that is unjust, but it may be damaging my health because I couldn’t manage it as well as I wanted to. This is all basic stuff, yet it is the little things that can make a difference, and each one of us has our own responsibility to how we want to live our lives taking into account our own unique situations.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why do we let little things upset us so much?

  1. Hey Lisa….All the above you mention is so normal to most people….but because of the way you and i came through life the anger can just come for no reason but yet because of pass upsets we ignore it rather than confront it for fear or repercussion’s and also what i found was that because we have children we are afraid to hurt them in any way as we don’t like to look bad so this in turn again makes us turn in on our self….lol until our mind says enough is enough and we then let of steam…So let it off but look at other ways but if the door is opened and the dogs are dirty and mess the floor..chill if the kids wind you up as mind do remind them its their room and their duty to clean…but mostly dont dwell on the negatives of how you feel look at the positives and as you said your still learning and remember we are only human with human faults and frailties “AND ALLOWED TO BE” we cant control and change everything but just starting on ourselves then those around is a start…….. DON’T FRET THE LITTLE STUFF…..;-)

  2. lisawb says:

    I try not to fret the little stuff, but I agree, I think that people who have gone through any trauma are more sensitive then most, so that they pick up on little things that much more.

Leave a Reply

