Appreciating what you have!

Ok, I know I have probably been here before, but I was looking at my book position in some of the listings. Although it was No 1 in many categories for quite a few months, I was a little frustrated that it was never promoted. It also stands at a disadvantage, as bookshops will order it in for customers, but will not have it on their bookshelf. It is also placed way down the listings even though the rankings are higher then the books placed above it. Why? It is because it was self published and it doesn’t count that it has been in the bestseller list for months and months, it doesn’t count because it was self published. This could all be an axe to grind, yet it isn’t, actually it makes me more proud of what the book has achieved, and also appreciate that it managed to reach where it did. This appreciation also reaches out to where I am today, I could think and wish for a bigger house, more land, be better financially, and a whole lot of other things. Then if I sit back and think what I have got, I don’t really need any of those other things yes they would be a bonus but what I have, and what matters is already here, and I feel fortunate and happy that this is so. I also realise in reflection that being able to appreciate what I have makes me feel good, it makes me feel happier then wishing for more. This is not to be confused with being motivated because although I am appreciative of what I have, I am also realistic and I can be motivated to possibly reach out for more potential things, but in that realistic feeling these things are just a bonus and as I am already grateful for where I am, then I may aim for them but with a true grounding and appreciation of what I have. For some to be able to appreciate what you have can be an excuse not to search or work or be motivated for more. If this is the case then let it be. This is not the case for me. I appreciate what I have and I am motivated to work for what I may be able to achieve, if I do achieve more then yes it will add another positive to my already positive situation. Each and everyone of us deserves to be able to want the best for our children and for ourselves, it depends where you place your satisfaction and happiness on this best to when you will truly be content and happy, to be able to define best, is to know and understand what you already have and hopefully to be able to appreciate it.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

