Psychiatric Care!

When I was in hospital which was a while back now, one of the greatest concerns for me was that the professionals didn’t listen. I have to exclude my consultant on this and also be thankful for the medical team under his supervision as he visited me daily, and for most of the time did listen. Yet I was one of the lucky ones, for me it was distressing to see people left on their own who desperately needed someone to talk to, and the answer to this problem was that they were drugged up instead. Whilst there were some patients who actually wanted their medication, there was a lot more who didn’t want it who were made to take it. I am not saying that this medication wasn’t needed, but it seemed the easy way out for the professionals. It was quicker to dose someone up then to spend time talking to them. I found this to be quite distressing at times, and as for the elderly ward that I was in, as it was shared with some of the liaison patients. Some people were so limited with movement they sat there like vegatables waiting to rot. Many people know it is good to keep the brain active and you would have thought that there would have been more opportunities for these people to join in a card game or similar, yes some were too ill for this, but not everyone, or even sit them together so they could have a chat. Many elderly ladies came to visit me and I had a chair especially placed so they could chat at times which were convenient for me. I also made time to make cups of tea which can make a massive difference when you are just sat there on your own as some of these people were. Also if you think this was bad for the elderly, then think of a young person being restrained and also not having the appropriate opportunity to talk. I am not saying there were not some good nurses about but even they had routine work to do and could not fulfil the need for some of the patients. If anyone asked me what could make a massive change to some of this care, it would be to have a couple of professionals on these wards whose only job was to be there so patients could have someone to liaise with. Even if they knew they had to wait a couple of hours if they had the opportunity it gave them more hope.
These patients had visitors and sometimes that helped, but it was more professional time some of these wanted, just to be able to talk to the appropriate people about issues that they probably needed the professional attention for. The ward rounds to me were frustrating as patient after patient would come to see me and tell me that the person in charge of their care had seen them for minutes and would not be there again until the next ward round and had just prescribed more drugs, to me this would have made someone who was ill, more desperate as it was as if they couldn’t reach out and get hold of what they needed to get better.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

