Healing Takes Time!

Whilst I was revising for my psychology degree, I did a lot of reflecting as some of the course work made me think about my past. The last course in particular was about critical social psychology, and this opened many doors to how I looked at things and placed them in perspective. The theories and methods were different to the cognitive perspectives and were not so black and white. This doesn’t mean to say I think less of the cognitive perspectives it just means I had added dimensions that gave me broader perspectives and opened my mind up that little bit more.

The new perspectives throw more light and emphasis on the social context and what was happening in that social context at the time of the situation I was involved in. The cognitive approach to me had always been about me thinking how I was affected, and besides this took into account my individuality including my biological make up. Now as I was working through this course it made me realise that the social issues had also played a huge part in my past, and had influenced the situation a great deal.

One of the events in my book was when I was at rock bottom as many bad things were happening to me, the person who had said that they could help, did the opposite. I had overdosed something to this day I am still coming to terms with. This person when I rang for help instead of calling for an ambulance, told me I hadn’t taken enough and persuaded me to take more then the lethal amount. I was foolish but had turned to this person in desperation and without thinking rationally, did what she told me to do.

It was by chance and circumstance that I survived against the odds.

This episode still haunts me to day as I still question how anybody in this world can do that sort of thing and play with someones life. This wasn’t the only person who wished me harm. I always blamed my self to what had happened to me.My self esteem was rock bottom as when you look at the whole scenario there were a few people who wanted me dead. This is not a nice thing to live with. I also have post traumatic stress disorder because there were many more incidents that were traumatic. Whilst the cognitive therapy was helping me to look at myself and improve the way I think, I realised through this course that whilst I was concentrating on me getting better I hadn’t really given that much thought to the people who did this.

When I think of the first person who persuaded me to overdose who had told me she would help me in earlier stages, I can see her reason to want to do this but for the life of me cannot justify her action, and I also realise that this was not to do with me as a person, this would or could have happened to the next person who had fallen prey to her husband. This incident wasn’t about me deserving to die, this was about an evil person who had so much bitterness to do with her own life that she took it out on a vulnerable person. This then sends the balance and outlook a completely different way, this was not about me being as bad as I thought, and me having to work hard at myself to pull myself up to better levels, this was about me understanding why this had happened and to make progress in a different way.

This is just one example of why healing takes time, experience and reflection are valuable assets, and my psychology work has given me better tools to help understand myself and others. I am hoping that my experience will also shed some light to others and for them not to blame themselves but to look at the picture as a whole with a broader outlet. This is also not about dwelling on the past, life is too short for that but it can demonstrate that insight can also be powerful and you can use it positively or negatively, in my case I feel proud that I pulled myself through this and actually feel empowered as it has also boosted my inner strength to conquer my past and not let people who are not worth it influence my future with any negativie influence.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Healing Takes Time!

  1. Hey Lisa…your alive because someone “good ” was watching over you so you could be here today to tell us your story..I have a similar story but this was a person who was supposed to love me and guide me through my life..So when i took a massive amount of aspirin and waited to die i went into my room and looked at my brothers lying sleeping i realised that once i was gone he would then pick on one of them..And that loving person was my own father..When i finally raised the courage to tell my mum what i had done. no ambulance was called i was made to vomit and walk around..And whilst i lay recuperating for several days he came into the room “and in my young romantic head he was going to say “son why did you do that we would all miss you if you had died then he would hug me” How wrong i was his inspiring words were “next time your going to do it do it right” That made me feel totally worthless for years……xx

    • lisawb says:

      Hi Patrick, Words are nearly beyond me as it was bad enough with this person doing it but your own Dad! I am not surprised it took years. I respect and look up to you, and think that my site has opened my eyes to so many wonderful people on there, all fighting with an inner strength, and to make the world a better place for others, so that people don’t have to go through what we went through. I hope you realise just how valued you are now, not just by your family, but by friends and even virtual friends like myself. X

Leave a Reply

