Mental Health Stigma

I saw an advert on the television the other day promoting people to talk about mental health. It was short and simple, probably more to do with the costs of advertising etc, but it was a start and a step into the right direction.

However in writing that, although I believe the stigma about mental health still needs to be eradicated as it is old and out of date. I also can see that people would not like mental health issues pushed upon them as it isn’t the nicest issue in the world to deal with, and to some it can be quite frightening. Mental health issues need to be dealt with in a positive way and sometimes life isn’t as simple as that. Experience of when people have gone through mental illness and come out the other side can be enlightening and helpful. At the same time the truth doesn’t need to be brushed under the carpet ,and denial a way of accepting things. Many of the public don’t like mental health issues and the easiest way to deal with it, is to pretend it doesn’t exist. This is the least helpful way, as not only does it promote ignorance it can sometimes block and delay the path to recovery. When someone has a problem, whether it be an illness or not, the way to deal and manage with that problem is to understand the problem in the first place, to be able to manage it the correct way. Mental health needs to be understood and needs to be managed in better and improving ways. Experience can give massive insight, and as people are all unique and individual, the more experience that can be given the better.

I have received many thanks from all sorts of directions, from professionals, from mental health users, and from carers and relations of people who have suffered from mental health issues. I have also received criticism from some that do not understand, and from others who think it is not right to publicise issues such as those that are in the book. My personal opinion is that if the book has helped one person, then it was worth writing. The book has helped many people and I do not regret the style or the way it was written. The book is a genuine account which makes the insight valuable, and this is what has been recognised by the professionals, as well as some seeking support from different avenues. Besides reading accounts from different people, group therapy and talks also give important insight. Mental health needs to be talked about and shared in many different ways so that it isn’t a dark issue that is hidden. If people helped shine some light on the subject then others would see that it isn’t such a dark area as they first thought of. Yes there can be many distressing and upsetting events but these can still be managed, and it isn’t until these events are shared that others can start to understand them so much better. It is not just about the events being shared, it is about the power of the events and information being distributed equally so that unfair biases are not promoted and unfair stigma generalised from the powers above. People need to listen more, and listen from the heart as well as the mind.

My book is about my past which has many dark issues and distressing scenes, life is about moving on, and my website on facebook which was significantly about the book and mental health issues has also moved on. I can now share some fantastic positive posts that are not just about mental health, but about life itself. These posts are significant to me as they are about caring, love and nature, and contain depths of beauty and beyond. Some posts are also delightful as they are amusing and funny. Just because I had a bad past doesn’t mean I cannot enjoy life now and the amazing content that is life itself. i don’t forget my past and I don’t forget the issues involved. I hope to use some of the past to make the future a better and for me brighter place to be. I also find my past helpful as it reminds me of how lucky I am now. I am glad I took my psychology degree as it has also helped me understand people so much better. I am thankful for my book as it has led me onto seeing and believing in myself and opening my eyes to a much better world then before. I have gained so many friends from this website that I have learned to open up and see life in a completely different way. I wish others would give people with mental health problems a chance and a helping hand so that they can see life in a much better and positive way.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

