Mental Health Issues do exist and should be noticed more.

Mental health problems exist and despite the majority of people wanting to deny and hide this statement it is true.

When I wrote A Fine Line A Balance to Survive I had to think long and hard about the title, as I wanted it to be apt and appropriate for the book. Some people are fortunate where they have never had to balance along a fine line, or even if they did, they have had the correct support to make sure they didn’t fall off. 

People with mental health problems sometimes find themselves on a fine line through no fault of their own just circumstances that have caused their platform to be finer. It is about time that the general public realised that people with mental health problems are no different then anyone else, and that mental health isn’t something to be hidden away, denied or actually patronised. I mention patronised as some of the nurses who were in charge of the ward I was on, decided that just because some people had a mental health problem it affected their brain and intelligence. They treated some of the patients as if they were little children taking away any dignity and respect. I mentioned this as it also happens in the general public. It is not surprising it happens as people are so ignorant and uneducated where mental health issues are concerned. As I keep stating in other posts and will keep stating this problem will not go away until people recognise that mental health issues exist and that there needs to be so much more awareness and education, and understanding as sometimes it is not the people with the mental health problems that lack the intelligence. 

Lack of understanding leads to all sorts of problems and it is understandable that without the correct support many mental health sufferers get worse through either wrong support or lack of it.

 

This is why many people who do suffer from mental health need to give themselves a massive pat on the back as they have had to fight their own battle and in some cases had to fight against the wrong support or lack of it. Some people may have received brilliant support and they are fortunate and I so wish that this brilliant support could be more widespread as it is few and far between.

My face-book page was initiated to promote my book and mental health issues, along the way I have learnt that although mental health issues are significant, so is life and enjoying life and making sure the quality of life exists. If mental health issues and problems were repeated time and time again yes they would be noticed, and people would become more aware but I think in a negative route. This is just my personal opinion and others may not agree. I think awareness of mental health issues needs to be promoted but also in a balanced fashion, and I also think that in some cases people don’t want mental health issues thrown in their face. Everyone is different and entitled to their own choices, my argument is that the people with responsibility who could do more don’t, and this should have been changed years ago.

The fact is because people who have mental health problems usually have to fight their own silent battle, they also do not receive recognition or appreciation, whereas people who have physical symptoms that can be seen, and can show to others that they are fighting are often placed in the limelight and shown as an example to others. I applaud anyone who is fighting and inspiring others, yet I wish that more people would recognise that there are many other people out in this world who could do with some recognition or appreciation for their own silent battles. There are many heroes out there who gain recognition because of physical ailments but there are also many other heroes out there that should also be appreciated and respected for the battles they have fought. My heart goes out to them and I so respect them as I think they have such an inner strength as they have achieved so much and done it entirely on their own.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mental Health Issues do exist and should be noticed more.

  1. I agree with everything you have written, especially after having suffered Depression for a number of years, I got myself out of it and I often relapse, but therapy helped. The strongest people are usually the ones who finally cave in due to the pressures by others, modern day stress and feeling responsible for other people. Mental health needs to be in the open and if anyone said to me that they were suffering I would take time to listen and not judge. Walk 5 miles in someone else’s shoes to get a feel for who they are, ask yourself how you would feel if you were them! There is nothing wrong with having mental health issues, it’s just not physical, but people don’t have the time any more to spare a listening ear for others and these issues are on the increase. More needs to invested in Counselling and other areas to help combat this rising tide not throw pills at them. For all those who battle through on your own, you are not entirely alone. Just because it cannot be seen does not mean it isn’t there, don’t ignore people with Mental health issues for they need all the support that they can get.

    • Lisa WB says:

      Thanks Elaine, I agree and it is sad that people don’t give the time to find out more about mental health issues, and until they do the problems will still exist. It needs more and more people to come forward and speak out.

Leave a Reply

