Where does the time go! Empty Nest Syndrome.

Thought I’d go to my blog and start writing again. I was shocked as I had a job to find the page and then realised that it had been over a year since I had written. Nearly 2 years. Where has the time gone, it seems to have flown by. I remember my Nan telling me the older you get the faster time seems to fly. I laughed at the time as I was a kid, now I can relate to her thoughts. Both my books have been selling well as E books and I feel humbled as I wrote them without expectations. Now I want to write a third but never seem to have the time or be in the right mood. My kids are both growing up fast and are at University and College and this year I have come to understand the phrase “Empty nest syndrome.” I miss my kids when they are away, I want the best for them, but as a parent I have an enormous gap to fill, and it’s taking time to believe that I now have time to do things for me. The initial months hit me hard without the kids and I have been diagnosed with depression again, something I am fighting and to be honest I am not taking the pills described as I keep telling myself it’s circumstantial and I will pull out of it. Time will tell whether I can fend off the blues or not. I am  trying to make myself go out and to give myself new challenges. The weather doesn’t help as I am a lover of the outdoors and the winter hours of short days and long nights adds more challenges. It had helped to know I am not alone with the Empty nest syndrome as some of my friends have sent messages of their struggles and challenges. It’s nice to see their children doing well. One of my friends joined a choir, another has taken up flying lessons. I was very proud of them both to have the courage to go ahead. It motivated me to have a go at something. I have tried to take up golf, whether i’ll be able to continue due to finance, physical fitness and commitment only time will tell, but I am enjoying it much more then I had anticipated. It’s more challenging then you think and the fact that you can hit it fantastically well and the next shot can be awful makes it a challenge mentally as well as physically. One of my biggest challenges was to have the confidence to hit the ball if people were watching. It reminded me of when I first learnt to drive. Now I am getting the hang of it I am enjoying it more.

A simple message of this blog is to go out and challenge yourself, it is rewarding and you might find you are enjoying yourself more then you thought you would.

About lisawb

I am a loving housewife and mother who has a swiss husband and two children. I love animals and therefore have plenty of different ones including 10 cats and 2 dogs. I have achieved a First class (Honours) psychology degree and have have written a book that has turned out to be a best seller. I have a facebook page for my book that also covers many other issues that is growing rapidly. I am also trying hard to work on a sequel to A Fine Line A Balance to Survive by Lisa WB.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

